Wednesday, August 6, 2008

SuperLiga Champions!

A couple of defensive mistakes from the New England forced them to come from behind in both regulation and extra time, but the Revs fought back both times and eventually took the match to penalty kicks. Once there the team fell behind again, but this time came back and after 8 rounds emerged victorious 6-5 to claim the SuperLiga Championship.

Nate Jaqua opened the scoring 18 minutes in off a poor decision by Amaechi Igwe, who was playing out of position in center back with Jay Heaps and Michael Parkhurst unavailable. The Revs tied it up just before halftime on a well constructed Steve Ralston goal and both sides exchanged chances in the second half before the match headed to overtime. Kei Kamara got the lead back for Houston in overtime when he beat Matt Reis to a cross and headed it into the back of the net. But four minutes later the Revs again tied up when Shalrie Joseph headed home a Ralston free kick.

The match then headed to penalties where Ralston and Houston’s Craig Waibel each scored in the opening round. Reis took the Revs next kick and missed and Chris Wondolowski scored to give Houston the lead. Reis made amends, however, saving the next two penalties from Dwayne De Rosario and Brian Ching, while Shalrie Joseph and Taylor Twellman converted from the spot. Khano Smith then went up with a chance to win it for the Revs, but his shot was saved by Pat Onstad and Ricardo Clark converted to send it to sudden death.

Jeff Larentowicz and Chris Tierney scored the next two for the Revs, while Wade Barrett and Kamera found the back of the net with their shots. Chris Albright then converted his attempt, and Houston’s Corey Ashe saw his shot bang off the crossbar to give the Revs the win.

Check Soccer New England later for a full match report.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home